keyboard_arrow_right
What R My Rights?

What R My Rights?

A Citizen Deserves to Know Their Right…. Learn About Yours You Young Americans….

ACLU (http://www.aclu.org/ ) – The American Civil Liberties Union’s (ACLU) mission is to defend and preserve the individual rights and liberties guaranteed to all people in this country by the Constitution and laws of the United States.

Advocates for Youth (http://www.advocatesforyouth.org/teens/ ) – Dedicated to creating programs and advocating for policies that help young people make informed and responsible decisions about their reproductive and sexual health.

Bully Bust (http://www.bullybust.org/ ) – BullyBust provides critical resources and supports to create a school-wide effort against bullying. Join the bully prevention movement by signing up for the Partner School Program today.

The Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD) (http://www.glaad.org/ ) – GLAAD is dedicated to promoting and ensuring fair, accurate and inclusive representation of people and events in the media as a means of eliminating homophobia and discrimination based on gender identity and sexual orientation.

Human Rights Campaign (http://www.hrc.org/ ) – A political organization working to ensure equality for the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender community.

Kids, Know Your Rights! A Young Person’s Guide to Intellectual Freedom (http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/alsc/issuesadv/intellectualfreedom/kidsknowyourrights.pdf ) – A four-page PDF brochure written by members of ALSC’s Intellectual Freedom Committee.

Listen Up! (http://www.pbs.org/merrow/listenup/ ) – Youth media network from PBS whose mission is to help youth be heard in the mass media, contributing to a culture of free speech and social responsibility.

Teen Consumer Scrapbook (http://www.atg.wa.gov/teenconsumer/ ) – Created by high school students, this site provides tips and information on such topics as privacy, health and finances.

Teen Workers Rights (http://www.osha.gov/SLTC/teenworkers/rights.html ) – U.S. Department of Labor Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) site for teen workers.

The Youth Free Expression Network – (http://www.ncac.org/yfen ) – YFEN is a national coalition of teens and adults committed to defending the free expression rights of youth.

Youth Rules (http://www.youthrules.dol.gov/ ) – A site from the U.S. Department of Labor designed to bring teens, parents, educators, employers, government, unions and advocacy groups together to ensure young workers have safe and rewarding work experiences.

Youth and Labor (http://www.dol.gov/dol/topic/youthlabor/index.htm ) – Provides statistics, resources and information on topics like work permits, hours and wages.

Youth Power (http://www.hclib.org/count.cfm?id=3149&URL=http://www.youthpower.net/ ) An organization of youth around the nation who are taking charge of their schools, lives, and world.

Leave a Reply